Page 1 of 1

How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:44 am
by unguitar
How do I change Nav Pad settings
from:
left-right pads to scroll through scenes
to:
up-down pads to scroll through scenes ?

thanks,
Luca

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 2:56 pm
by TheSupport@KMI
Well by default the east and west Nav Pad buttons scroll through the scenes. This cannot be disabled.

There is a rather roundabout way that you could get the north and south buttons to scroll through the scenes, but it is a little involved, will only work in Hosted mode, and it would probably be more reliable to just get used to the left and right motion for scene changing (instead of up and down).

I've attached a screenshot of how you should set things up in the SoftStep Editor. This screenshot was taken on a Mac, so the setup might be just a little different for you. The only difference for Windows is that anywhere it says "IAC Driver Bus 1" you should choose whatever your third-party MIDI router is — we tend to use MIDI Yoke, so choose "MIDI Yoke: (x)" (it doesn't matter which one, just remain consistent and don't use the one you're using for sending MIDI to other apps).

What is going on in this screenshot is there are two modlines: one for Nav N and one for Nav S. Each of these modlines are outputting the value 127 on a different CC number whenever the key is pressed (you can change the CC numbers to whatever you like, again, just remain consistent). The CC value is sent out as MIDI over the IAC Driver Bus (or MIDI Yoke), then it comes back in to the editor using the MIDI input options in the Settings window. This MIDI is then used in the Preset Modulation window to increment or decrement the selected scene.

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:36 am
by unguitar
It is weird these controls are fixed and impossible to tweak.

I would prefer to have scene change on up/down as I find them easier to control and, most of all, it is easier to see the display to check the scene has correctly changed.
The foot on the left nav pad completely obscures the display.

Do you see any possibility to make these controls freely assignable in the future ?

I am using it Standalone mode.

thanks,
Luca

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:43 am
by TheSupport@KMI
It's definitely possible to open those controls up in an update. Not sure when an update will happen, but there are murmurs around the office.

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:01 pm
by Otis Scarecroe
TheSupport@KMI wrote:It's definitely possible to open those controls up in an update. Not sure when an update will happen, but there are murmurs around the office.


Could you ask them to speak up a bit?
It's time for some movement on this product.

Thanks, O

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:35 pm
by adamqlw
I concur...

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:17 pm
by unguitar
Since new editor is out, has the situation changed maybe ?

I would also like to know if there can be the chance to assign a key of the navpad to go direct to a specific setlist.

thanks

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 5:00 am
by unguitar
may I give this topic a gentle little bump ?

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Sat May 03, 2014 10:25 am
by unguitar
may I give this topic's bump another gentle bumb ?

Re: How to: Nav Pad scene change

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 8:22 pm
by ericzang
sounds like a good FR to me as well.