Ableton Live Looper

Get help from other SoftStep users.
barbaromail
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:59 am
Location: madrid- spain, napoli- italy

Ableton Live Looper

Postby barbaromail » Fri Apr 15, 2011 3:49 pm

Hi everybody...
i'd like to introduce myself, an italian electric bass player and sound-noise enthusiast in spain..
and deeply thanks KMI staff for such an inspiring piece of gear we've all been waiting for, for such a long time...
i bought it from Modular Square in Paris (the only dealer right now in europe) a couple of weeks ago...
I've quite rapidly started building my scenes upon my needs and i've started using the Sstep in standalone live with GuitarRig in Ableton Live and externally controlling my SSC Kyma...
everything works as expected... ...happiness is definitely a state of madness :D
(i think i'm one of those who'll need a second one to really start getting crazy!!) :D

I'd like to know if anyone succeeded in finding a way to emulate the Ableton Live Looper behavior within a modline...
i saw and tried the one used in "12 ableton live guitar fx demo looper" scene...
as far as i can see, it's a useful preset if you want to
(for example)
rec-play-overdub-play-stop and clear... and start another one...

...lights behavior becomes unobvious and sort of upside-down if you
rec-play-overdub-play-stop and start playing it again and overdub and so on...
i mean;

rec- red light
play- green light
overdub- orange light
stop- no light

the way it is right now, the 6 button is the multipurpose cc , while pushing the 0 button clear the loop and shut the 6 light off... pushing the 6 twice stops the loop leaving the green light on (it should be off)... so if i push it again to play the loop.. red light goes on...

what i'd really like to achieve is to have a lights behavior in the softstep that frees me from being worried watching the mac screen to be sure everything is going fine... ;)

is there anyone out there who has sorted out a workaround for this?
any hint appreciated... :)

enrico.
softstep, midi expander, ableton live, symbolic sound corporation kyma, music man basses.
Albatronics
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:19 am

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby Albatronics » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:52 am

Enrico, did you ever get anywhere with this? Sounds like I am looking for the same sort of set up - great to know how you did and any other tricks you have found...

Thanks!
mocker
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby mocker » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:07 pm

Exactly what I need too. Will investigate using Midi Translator to control the leds, instead of modlines.
I'll let you know.
mocker
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby mocker » Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:23 am

I've manage to obtain what I want using Bome Midi Translator. I'm totally bypassing the SS Editor for the leds.
With the help of conditionnal rules and preset changes (in BMT), the SS leds now reflect exactly the Looper's behaviour. My choices :

rec- red led blinking
play- green led blinking
overdub- red led blinking
stop- green led
clear- no led
undo- no led
redo- green led

I could possibly get an orange led on third press, but that goes beyond my endurance in progamming complicated rules. Basically one rule is taking care of the "big button" press alternation between the leds (true/false green/red) and the other deals with the double press (to stop the loop).

AND : coming from CLEAR (which switches off green led), REDO switches on green led and pressing the "big" button gives a blinking green led again. So no more fooled by the wrong leds, no more staring at the MacBook's screen :-)
User avatar
mixerguy
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:28 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby mixerguy » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:36 am

^ That sounds great...does the Bome software have away to share set-ups?
Christian Heilman
mixerguy.com
KMI Sr. Product Specialist - Pacific NW


KMI QuNexus, KMI QuNeo, KMI SS2 w MIDI Exp, KMI 12 Step, Live 8, PT 9, Studio One, Axiom 61, lotsa plugs, Line 6 Echo Pro, Macbook Pro, Presonus mixer
mocker
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby mocker » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:08 pm

They have a lot of presets but not very complex ones.
Actually I finally managed to get the orange leds when "play". So my setup mimics exactly the Looper's behaviour. Even better I could tell the display to show REC, PLAY, ODUB when pressing the big button. Once you understand their use of variables and conditions, you get infinite possibilities. If you get a version and are interested in my setup, let me know. You'll have to adapt it to your needs I guess.
I found the SS midi implementation chart here : viewtopic.php?f=40&t=530
All is there if you're looking for the right to CCs control leds and display.
pepezabala
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby pepezabala » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:32 am

hey mocker, would you mind to share a bit more info on your set up? Is it like this: you have Bome listen to ableton and when specific looper messages come in you translate them to the specific LED messages od the softstep?

Does this somehow affect the normal behaviour of the softstep? I have one scene on my pedal to control my guitar needs, there are three loopers. The other buttens toggle other efx, and the leds just switch on and off. Would I be able to use your solution within my usual softstep scene?
mocker
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looper

Postby mocker » Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:00 am

pepezabala wrote:hey mocker, would you mind to share a bit more info on your set up? Is it like this: you have Bome listen to ableton and when specific looper messages come in you translate them to the specific LED messages od the softstep?

Does this somehow affect the normal behaviour of the softstep? I have one scene on my pedal to control my guitar needs, there are three loopers. The other buttens toggle other efx, and the leds just switch on and off. Would I be able to use your solution within my usual softstep scene?



Hi pepezabala !

I only use Bome to control the Softstep leds. Actually Bome's messages don't go to Live. For this I use the regular SS editor and the SS scene sends its CC's "normally". So basically, my Bome presets tell the leds (and the display) how to behave depending on what pad I pressed on the SS. For instance if I press pad 1, Looper 1 is starting and the ss led blinks red, when I press again it blinks green (play) and the third time orange (overdub). Display follows : REC, PLAY, OVDB. Etc.

Do some research on this forum (Max/Msp forum) and you will find the midi chart and the leds CC's of the Softstep. Also I have several posts on Bome's forum with a lot of details (rules with variables). It may sound complicated but it's not… :-)

Have fun.

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron