new editor is here

Get help from other SoftStep users.
User avatar
dirk
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby dirk » Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:57 pm

Love the ability to take previous layouts forward, fantastic. I was actually assuming I was starting from ground zero, way cool.

However I have to call shenanigans on some of your explanation.

"Programs written in portable C++ and using Qt can be recompiled with no changes for any platform supported by Qt. This includes Windows (at least XP and later), Linux (pretty much any distribution), Mac, various Unices like FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris and much, much more".

Dirk
elmquist
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby elmquist » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:39 am

@dirk: Well it depends on what parts of Qt KMI uses. Qt5 have MIDI support as part of the API. Use of a platform specific interface is indeed likely to cause some dancing around a pile of broken windows.

Certainly understand the desire to use the new firmware and editor soon given how the current tools are.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:09 pm

dirk wrote:However I have to call shenanigans on some of your explanation.

"Programs written in portable C++ and using Qt can be recompiled with no changes for any platform supported by Qt. This includes Windows (at least XP and later), Linux (pretty much any distribution), Mac, various Unices like FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris and much, much more".


Well, if you were to try and build the current Mac code on a Windows machine you won't be having a good time.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
dirk
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby dirk » Thu Feb 06, 2014 4:05 pm

It's OK, I'll let you guys take care of that. :lol:
Dirk
mocker
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby mocker » Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:47 pm

Funny how nobody announced the new Editor ! It's in the download section on KMI's site ! Version 2.0.
And it seem sto work. I'm not home for a few days, so without my Softstep, but I did open it and converted my 'old' standalone presets (version 1.2.1) ! Great. Goodbye Max :) I won't regret you.
User avatar
dirk
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby dirk » Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:22 pm

Woah, I guess I'm off to find it, bizarre.
Oh man silly me, I was hoping for the windows version too, almost makes me want to build a hackintosh machine to play with the new version.

Dirk
mocker
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby mocker » Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:33 am

dirk wrote:Woah, I guess I'm off to find it, bizarre.
Oh man silly me, I was hoping for the windows version too, almost makes me want to build a hackintosh machine to play with the new version.

Dirk


Or much simpler, just buy a Mac. Sorry I couldn't resist :)
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:16 am

Yeah, this was a bit of a stealthy release. If anybody downloaded the manual between Friday and now (Sunday night/Monday morning) you should download it again. There was just a temporary placeholder over the weekend. The real one is up now.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
forrestfuzz
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:03 pm

Re: new editor is here

Postby forrestfuzz » Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:33 am

well what do you know....
i updated the firmware and used the new editor and low and behold the "random" scene changes that i had are gone...hhhhmmmm go figure....well the the hhhhhmmmmm is still there (wtf el wire really?)

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=593

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=461

so hours and hours of my time and money doing EVERYTHING i could to resolve a "non bug" got magically fixed

mind you i am a VERY tech savvy musician and will exhaust every resource i can before i place blame on programers or a company but really you guys ...i mean really????

at least own the bugs and not waste users time...i can except that but denial no

well after 2 years i can now say the product i purchased actually does what it is supposed to do....
oh and my softstep setup is very very basic.

thanks for the "update" and if KMI would like i can send you my address so you can send me a new softstep for my troubles!

forrest

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests