Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Get help from other SoftStep users.
rad3d
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:44 pm

Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby rad3d » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:44 pm

So - is the Windows editor coming sometime soon?

I really want to update my rig to the SS2, but if there's no Windows editor coming soon, it won't be usable for me.

Also - what is the trade in discount going to be for the original SoftStep? I want to know if it's going to be worth trading, or if I'll be better selling my current SoftSteps (I have 2 - 1 backup).
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:42 pm

A beta version should be happening on Friday or so. A public release will likely follow a week or two after that. This is assuming no huge bugs get introduced by the changes — some shared code between Mac and Windows has been changed, so you never know what fun things will happen until it gets thoroughly tested.

Not sure about the trade-in discount. I don't know if they've put that system in place yet or set the price. You should email contact@keithmcmillen.com for more info.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
dirk
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby dirk » Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:40 pm

This Friday as in Today? He asked excitedly. :)
Dirk
rad3d
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:44 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby rad3d » Sat Mar 01, 2014 1:57 am

or so...
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:38 pm

We did send it out on Friday. It's not a public beta. You can email beta@keithmcmillen.com to try and get in on that.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
dirk
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby dirk » Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:25 pm

Yeah it was a no go for me, just stalls on upgrading the firmware, never completes. Win7 64 bit here.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:42 pm

Hmm, weird. I don't think we've seen that on our Windows 7 machines here. Definitely let beta@keithmcmillen.com know the details if you haven't already.

Can you try manually installing the firmware? I've attached a zip of the proper firmware file you should use. The steps to manually install are located in the SoftStep FAQ at this link: http://www.keithmcmillen.com/softstep/f ... y-firmware
Attachments
Softstep-88.syx.zip
(29.79 KiB) Downloaded 151 times
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
Dave
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:35 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby Dave » Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:50 pm

Win XP Pro here. Mine also stalled at updating firmware to 88 but seems to have updated ok. I just canceled the stalled loader with task manager and ran the basic and advanced editors OK. Seems to be working just fine. Disappointed that the nav pads still cannot be programmed to send out independent CCs as can the other pads in the standalone mode but the editor is a HUGE improvement. Thanks.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:25 am

Hmm. We've seen this before with QuNeo before (firmware update stalling). If this is happening I would suggest trying this weird little thing that can sometimes fix the problem (at least it did with QuNeo):

1. Connect the SoftStep and open the Advanced Editor.
2. Begin the firmware update, either by the automatic prompt or by going up to the Hardware menu and selecting Update/Reload Firmware.
3. When the update begins and the progress bar appears, disconnect the SoftStep for a second or two and then reconnect it.
4. You should get a message that your firmware is out of date and need an update — do so. If this doesn't happen, manually initiate the firmware update.
5. See if the update goes through properly.

That seemed to fix the issue with some QuNeo users who experienced this.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
dirk
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: Windows Editor - SS Trade In

Postby dirk » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:48 pm

softstepupdatefirmerror.JPG

Yep I can't get past this now. Still starts up as VK2.
I will try the manual technique at some point, will let you know.
Dirk

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron