on-off

Get help from other SoftStep users.
veloopity
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:17 am

on-off

Postby veloopity » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:51 am

ack ... I can't figure out how to set the modulation values to make this happen:

press key - send a CC with 127 (e.g. record on)

(keep recording, then release the key ...)

release key - send a CC with 0 (e.g. record off)

whatever I do, the first press always sends two commands immediately, with 127 and 0

sorry, this is a newbie question, but I haven't used this software for quite a while and forgot how it works :)

-Michael
davecriss
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: on-off

Postby davecriss » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:39 pm

Hi Michael,

I think we can help you with that. We offer all of our customers a free 1/2 hour training session (phone / skype) with one of our Product Specialists. They can answer your questions and help you program your SoftStep they way You want it. You can sign up here:

http://www.keithmcmillen.com/support/training

And, of course, this forum is always available too. We have a pretty rad community! Thanks peeps!

-dave
__________
Dave Criss
VP of Sales & Marketing
Keith McMillen Instruments
dave@keithmcmillen.com
veloopity
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:17 am

Re: on-off

Postby veloopity » Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:46 am

thx Dave, that sounds good but my Softstep is already set up the way I want it at this moment ... very simple, just sending CCs ... only in this case I want one button doing this on-off thing ...
Bollenator
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:41 pm

Re: on-off

Postby Bollenator » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:45 am

Can you post a screenshot of your setup in the Editor? I don't have the editor in front of me right now, but according to the latest iteration of the manual, this should only require a single modline:

Foot On
Outputs a 127 when the key is pressed and a 0 when the key is released.


If you're trying to use two modlines, one FootOn and one FootOff, that may be where the second CC value (of 0) is coming from.
veloopity
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:17 am

Re: on-off

Postby veloopity » Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:00 am

I don't have it in front of me, but no, two CCs (instead of one) are sent on footon, and one on footoff. (Screenshot doesn't quite make sense because I'm clueless how to do it)
Bollenator
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:41 pm

Re: on-off

Postby Bollenator » Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:19 am

veloopity wrote:I don't have it in front of me, but no, two CCs (instead of one) are sent on footon, and one on footoff.

How many modlines are you using? Have you tried the new Editor/firmware? (Windows/Mac)

veloopity wrote:(Screenshot doesn't quite make sense because I'm clueless how to do it)

Here are steps if you're on a Windows machine:

  1. Open the Softstep editor and go to the modlines page
  2. Hold the ALT key on your keyboard and press the "PrtScn" or "PrintScreen" key on your keyboard
  3. Press the Start button and type "Paint" and hit Enter (should open MS Paint)
  4. Once MS Paint is open, press CTRL-V on your keyboard to paste the screenshot into the Paint window
  5. Press CTRL-S to save it as a file somewhere on your computer (for "Save as type", choose JPG or PNG)
  6. In your web browser, reply to this message on the forums and look for an "Upload Attachment" tab just below the textbox where you enter your reply
  7. Click "Browse..." and find the picture where you saved it on your computer
  8. Click "Open" or "OK" to close the Browse window
  9. Click "Add the file"
  10. Submit your reply
Hope that helps!
veloopity
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:17 am

Re: on-off

Postby veloopity » Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:55 am

I'm sorry I didn't express myself clearly - I'm not clueless in regard to screenshots (I'm a computer professional) :) but in regard to programming the Softstep.

Software is version 1.1 I think. It does all I need at this point.

-Michael
Attachments
softstepscreenshot.JPG
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: on-off

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:18 am

You should really be using the new software. It's more efficient, easier to use, and the firmware that it comes with is more stable.

Also, why are you using 2 modlines to send the same CC? The only line you should need is that first one.

But in any event, use the new software.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: on-off

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:42 am

Yeah, you're using a very old version of the editor. That's 1.1 right there. 1.21 was better, and 2.0 is much, much better.

But if you want to stay with that RAM-hog version for some reason, remove the second modline completely (which, the way you have it set up will only output a 0 when both pressed and released).

On the first modline, set the gain to 127, set the minimum to 0, and the maximum to 127 (you have the min/max reversed).

Foot On (in the older editors) outputs a 1 when pressed and a 0 when released. All you need to do is multiply by 127 (using gain) to send a 127 when pressed and a 0 when released.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
veloopity
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:17 am

Re: on-off

Postby veloopity » Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:27 pm

ok, thanks bunches, will try that ... when I install the new editor, will I have to install a new firmware into the pedal? will my settings stay untouched?

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests