Page 1 of 1

Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:01 pm
by Lid55
Of course you can select presets with the Nav keys, but does anyone know if it's possible to select presets with the 10 standard "keys" (1-0)?

the benefit of this would be speed/accessibility. Any presets would be selectable via a single key press.

Re: Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:14 pm
by TheSupport@KMI
Not possible right now.

If all 10 of the keys were being used to select presets, what would the point of the presets be? None of the keys would be able to do anything since they're being used to change presets. And how would presets 11 through 16 be handled?

I could see perhaps using two keys (non-Nav Pad) to increment or decrement through presets, though you'd have to make sure you had these two keys on every preset or else you'd get stuck.

Re: Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:04 am
by Lid55
True, all 10 keys for presets seems useless.

What I want is a small number of presets to work together.

For example
- assign key0 on preset1 to select preset2
- assign key0 on preset2 to select preset1

Then I would duplicate the function of most of the keys on both presets.... except a single key would be different. In effect, this creates a "shift" key... where you can assign two different functions to a key (or group of keys). Hopefully that makes sense.

Re: Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 11:45 am
by TheSupport@KMI
Yeah, that I could see being a good feature.

Re: Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:49 am
by Lid55
Could you possibly add this to the feature request list? Shouldn't be too difficult to implement, I imagine. Or should I add it to the feature request section here in the forum?

Re: Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:20 pm
by TheSupport@KMI
Yeah, I'll add it as a feature request.

Re: Selecting Presets with Keys

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:41 pm
by Lid55
@TheSupport@KMI - thanks for adding this to the request list

Here's another example of what could be done with this feature:

A "shift" function key (a temporary/one-time function key):
PresetA
- a group of keys assigned to FunctionA (for example, for a looper pedal, a group of RECORD keys)
- one key designated as the TemporaryFunctionShiftKey, which selects PresetB when pressed
PresetB
- the same group of keys in PresetA, but assigned a different function (for example, assigned to MUTE), and also all assigned to select PresetA after triggering their function

Additionally, there could be cloned keys in both presets to keep other functions/commands consistent (for example, in the looper case above, a PLAY/STOP toggle could be assigned to the same key in both presets)

- B Currie