softstep long press - Mainstage/SooperLooper

Get help from other SoftStep users.
fadi

softstep long press - Mainstage/SooperLooper

Postby fadi » Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:42 am

Hi all, I'm new to the whole looping/softstep stuff, and I wanted to get a few tips that I'm struggling with:

- I got a softstep hooked-up to Mainstage3, controlling SOOPERLOOPER through Midipipe.
SooperLooper has got an interface for learning midi, however it doesn't allow me to program anything apart from a simple press, which is then recognized as 'PC'. My Softstep is running in Standalone mode, because anything else messed up all the mid-learn functions I already had programmed, and I'm not that technological on the whole thing, I just need the basic functions.
- Could someone help me finding a way of having 2 functions on 1 pad, i.e. short press and long-press. For example if I want to press 'short' on a key to make 'undo' function, and 'long-press' to 'undo-all'.

appreciate any input here,
cheers

I have a softstep 1 version.
TheOtherSupport@KMI

Re: softstep long press - Mainstage/SooperLooper

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:46 am

The most reliable way to put multiple functions on one key would be using 'Double trig' and 'Long Press'.
If you try to use Foot On (what I assume you mean by 'short-press) and Long Trig on one key you will run into the problem that when you try to engage the long trig you ALWAYS engage the other message, there's just no way around it. The SS can't tell when you put your foot on the Key that you are wanting to engage the long trigger, but not the foot on. It currently can't read minds, but that is on the feature request list.
fadi

Postby fadi » Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:26 am

hi, thanks for you reply,