Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Get help from other SoftStep users.
Labalou
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:42 am

Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby Labalou » Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:50 am

I find myself having to disconect the USB cable from the softstep to my macbook sometimes
cause it doesnt respond sometimes when turning my laptop on
anybody experienced this?
Also my EV-5 exp pedal is too fast when controlling the volume of my software (Mobius)
is there a way to adjust it?
thanx
L.
emmett@KMI
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby emmett@KMI » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:33 pm

There is a Core MIDI bug which can cause devices to need to be replugged in when you first power up a Mavericks machine, This could be true for other Mac OSs as well. That could be causing your problem.

Regarding your pedal behavior. Make sure to go to the SoftStep advanced editor and in settings hit revert to default for global sensitivity then hit send. There is a bug where non default sensitivities values distort the pedal behavior.
Dave
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:35 pm

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby Dave » Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:50 am

I have the same USB problem on Windows 7 machines (2 different brands), Can't resolve it and it has rendered the SS unusable in live situations. Sad as the SS is a fantastic tool.
Labalou
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby Labalou » Sun Dec 14, 2014 4:09 am

thanx is there a solution for that core MidiBug problem other that reconecting?
Labalou
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Softstep 2 expression pedal with EV5

Postby Labalou » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:02 am

Ok so i bought the EV5 to control the track volume of Mobius
i did everything you suggested,reset the sensitivity,recalibrated the pedal and sent it from the advanced editor to the pedal
now the values go from 0 to 120 only,is that normal?
any clues?
emmett@KMI
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby emmett@KMI » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:09 pm

Your pedal goes from 0 to 120 before or after calibrating?
Labalou
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby Labalou » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:01 pm

before or after
emmett@KMI
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby emmett@KMI » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:04 pm

Are you in Hosted mode? During pedal calibration do you see the Blue/Pink vertical bar cover the whole range (the pink goes all the way to the top)?
Labalou
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby Labalou » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:22 pm

Yes i pressed the host button after calibrating in order to send it to the softstep
I see the pedal going almost all the way up i suppose but no entirely...
emmett@KMI
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Softstep 2 doesnt respond sometimes

Postby emmett@KMI » Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:41 pm

When you say you hit the host button, do you mean that you entered Hosted mode by hitting the button labelled Standalone, or that you exited Hosted mode by hitting the by button labeled Hosted.

It can be confusing: whatever the button reads is which mode you are in.

If you stay in Hosted mode the whole time, then you don't need to send.
If you operate in standalone, then you do need to send.

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron