Sync softstep keys with plug-in effects software

Get help from other SoftStep users.
mehrdadp

Sync softstep keys with plug-in effects software

Postby mehrdadp » Sat Nov 14, 2015 6:59 am

I must push softstep key twice before it syncs with my software effects plug-in. Every first time I change the presets in my Amplitube plug-in track, softstep keys controlling the Amplitube stomp boxes need to be pushed once in order to sync with it. It stays sync after that, until I change the preset. I would have to push the ss keys to sync with the new preset stomp boxes again.
Is there any way to have softstep keys to be always in sync with my Amplitube plug-in track in my Ableton Live?
Thank you
MacBook pro, OS 10.10.5, Apple Duet, Ableton Live 9, SoftStep 1 in hosted mode, Amplitube 4.
Briggy

Re: Sync softstep keys with plug-in effects software

Postby Briggy » Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:10 am

I am new to the Softstep and have just been programming it to control similar things in my Ableton set. Are you using the Advanced editor? Softstep 1 or 2.

In the advanced editor, you will need to experiment with a modline: Foot ON > either LINEAR or TOGGLE and outputting either a midi note OR CC > one of those combinations should work. This also depends on how thingS are set up inside your Ableton set - sometimes toggling a midi note didnt work for me, with an on+off switch in an effect in Ableton but was fine opening up an aux send. I have some mute on+offs in a utility plugin for some effects and I had to invert the values inside Abletons midi browser to make those function correctly, so its >>>TRIAL AND ERROR, I AM AFRAID. It took me a whole day to program simple stuff like that because of having to go back and forth between the editor and Ableton. But i got there in the end. :geek: