Controller 86

Get help from other SoftStep users.
User avatar
mburgess
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:27 am

Controller 86

Postby mburgess » Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:32 am

Hi there. Still trying to get my head around this thing so forgive the newbiness.
I'm using Midi Monitor to look at the info coming from the SS and it seems to keep intermittently sending out Controller 86 messages at values of 124 then 125. Is this normal? I'm using a program share scene.
thanks
mb
User avatar
mburgess
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:27 am

Re: Controller 86

Postby mburgess » Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:57 pm

My mistake.
Turns out controller 86 is coming from my Presonus Firestudio.
SS is functioning properly.
Thanks to me for answering my own question. <g>
MB
User avatar
mburgess
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:27 am

Re: Controller 86

Postby mburgess » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:34 pm

Back again.
Problen is definitely with SS.
Controller 86 is being sent every 2-3 seconds or so, value 124 then 125, but on port 1, not SSCOM.
User avatar
Macciza
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Controller 86

Postby Macciza » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:03 pm

Hi
CC#86 is the External Control pedal on the SoftStep in native midi mode which transmits on port 1.
Check what channels you are monitoring in MIDI Monitor prefs, and adjust.
Cheers
MM
KMI StringPort_1650, SoftStep_VK2 v1.2 & MIDI Expander; Mac_Moore Guitar,
Roland VG 8, 88 & 99, YamahaVL 70m; OSX 10.6.8, iMac i7 2.8G QC; MaxMSP 5.1.8, Ableton Live 8.2.2, M4L, SC3, QC, cSound, etc, etc,
ericzang
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:15 am

Re: Controller 86

Postby ericzang » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:56 pm

I've noticed short exp pedal messages being sent when having a pedal plugged in and having the SS on plush carpet, the adapter plug gets some pressure on it when the SS is pressed and goes into the carpet and results in exp pedal data. I'm guessing an adapter like this will solve the problem.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MHE100.5
User avatar
Macciza
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Controller 86

Postby Macciza » Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:00 pm

Hi
Yes that style plug should be far better than an inline socket. Should reduce or solve the issue . . .

I find I get poor results in general on plush carpet and am using a larger ply baseboard to eliminate this.

Cheers
MM
KMI StringPort_1650, SoftStep_VK2 v1.2 & MIDI Expander; Mac_Moore Guitar,
Roland VG 8, 88 & 99, YamahaVL 70m; OSX 10.6.8, iMac i7 2.8G QC; MaxMSP 5.1.8, Ableton Live 8.2.2, M4L, SC3, QC, cSound, etc, etc,
User avatar
mburgess
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:27 am

Re: Controller 86

Postby mburgess » Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:35 am

Appreciate the replies.
Turns out, when I stopped using the generic usb cable and used the supplied cable, the problem went away!?!?!?
Macciza, how did you figure out which controller 86 is? Everything I could find listed it as undefined.
Is that just what the SS uses (for no particular reason)?
Thanks again for the replies. All contained useful info. Hope I can return the favor sometime.
MB
User avatar
Macciza
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Controller 86

Postby Macciza » Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:33 pm

Hi
MIDI is kinda like Microsoft standards - often ignored.
Yes if you look in a CC# Table it will say 86 is 'undefined' but that simply means the 'standard' has no definite pre-allocated parameter. You will see that many of the others are allocated to various things but that does not mean they are there only uses, they can be mapped to anything.
The standard just makes it easier for manufacturers to have some similarity. ie CC#7 is pretty much always Volume CC#2 Breath Controller etc, But not all of them are implemented or adhered to in all devices.
KMI use CC's to communicate with the SS app - CC# 40 -79 = 1-0 pedals, 80-83 = Nav, 86 = Ext. Pedal Not sure why they left 84 & 85 (Maybe they wanted #86 for Control ;-} )
Using a MIDIMonitor program allows you to view MIDI streams - thats how I figured it out . . .
So as to the why? SS uses this number , no particular reason . . .
HTH
MM
KMI StringPort_1650, SoftStep_VK2 v1.2 & MIDI Expander; Mac_Moore Guitar,
Roland VG 8, 88 & 99, YamahaVL 70m; OSX 10.6.8, iMac i7 2.8G QC; MaxMSP 5.1.8, Ableton Live 8.2.2, M4L, SC3, QC, cSound, etc, etc,
danny
KMI Moderator
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Controller 86

Postby danny » Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:11 am

We have reproduced this problem with the expression pedal input and developed a fix for it already.

Another thing to watch is make sure the program you are using has the correct MIDI ports enabled. When using the SoftStep in Hosted mode alongside the software, you want SSCOM ports 1 and 2 (sometimes called simply Port 1 and Port 2) turned OFF. These are the raw data ports that you dont want to monitor data from inside your DAW. SoftStep Share should be the only port enables when using the SoftStep in hosted mode alongside the software.
When using Softstep in Standalone mode, SSCOM Port 1 needs to be turned on. When in Standalone mode, SSCOM ports are transformed into the main MIDI ports coming from the SoftStep directly. As well, SSCOM 2 is the MIDI Expander output in Standalone mode.
This might be a reason why you are seeing some MIDI values appear which are not what you setup assignments for in the Software.

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron