SoftStep API

Share your wishes for the future of SoftStep.
TJ-Shredder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby TJ-Shredder » Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:01 pm

I tried in Hostmode all sorts of controllers. as mentioned before red leds 20-29 and green leds 110-119.
For the letter display send ascii to controller 50-53. controler 42 acts strange, I'd avoid it.
I did not find a way to get the yellow LEDs going. Probably its green and red at the same time, but if I switch on green, red is switched off and vice versa...
I sent all controllers on channel 1 to SSCOM port 1...
I'd love to find out the commands to switch the SoftStep into Host mode. It is probably some SysEx...
This would allow me to get a secure performance setup and avoid the buggy ss external...

Stefan
Axel
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby Axel » Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:00 am

> For the letter display send ascii to controller 50-53.

Ha! It's that easy?! I just tried it and it works beautifully. Now I'm really confused why KMM wouldn't tell us this in the first place.

Right now, this is all the API I need.

Thanks a lot, TJ-Shredder
User avatar
MattKMI
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 12:53 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby MattKMI » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:35 am

Hey,
Correct: Controller #s 50-53 are the display.
Sorry we didn't mention it...

thanks,
M
---------------
Matt Hettich
Product Specialist @ KMI
office: (877)812-0408
www.keithmcmillen.com
TJ-Shredder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby TJ-Shredder » Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:24 am

And what about talking directly with Sysex to the SoftStep?
The ss object is close to unusable, but required if you want to work with the SoftStep in hostmode.
I can't put more than one in, I can't recover from closing a patch with an ss, restarting Max each time the computer goes to sleep or the device is unplugged is not really funny...
And I do not see any advantage of a behavior like this. I can have as many midiins or midiouts as I want, I only want to set the device in host mode and forget it...
A possibility to talk to each LED and segment directly would be nice, could be easily achieved in the firmware for example on a different MIDI channel.
(I didn't try all possibilities, as I still hope to see a list of all commands here...;-)
If there would be a preset in standalone mode, which simply pulls out and listens exactly to the same controllers as in host mode this would also be a valid solution. Lets call it a feature request...

But I must admit, I love the toy and hope my complaints will make it better...

Stefan
User avatar
Macciza
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: SoftStep API

Postby Macciza » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:37 pm

Yes it is that easy . . .
Which is why I suggested to all to have a peek behind the scenes if the info was wanted . . .
Now pretty much all the info for development is available - short of firmware . . .
Let the devs begin . . .

MM
KMI StringPort_1650, SoftStep_VK2 v1.2 & MIDI Expander; Mac_Moore Guitar,
Roland VG 8, 88 & 99, YamahaVL 70m; OSX 10.6.8, iMac i7 2.8G QC; MaxMSP 5.1.8, Ableton Live 8.2.2, M4L, SC3, QC, cSound, etc, etc,
TJ-Shredder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby TJ-Shredder » Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:11 am

What is the sysex command to set the SoftStep into host mode?
If I would know that, I could say all the info for developement is available. For me that is the key and a missing info...

I would add a feature request for standalone mode: Let it understand a simple program change command like programm no. 127 on channel 16 to set the device in what is now host mode (could be as well a controller message to switch the mode on and off). That means controllers 40-86 send out all raw data, and the LEDs and the display listen to what the listen to in host mode. (+ maybe cotroller 100 to 109 switches on yellow LEDs...;-)

And maybe another state, program change 126 on channel 16 would disconnect the control of all LEDs and the display from the internal programs, and would instead listen to MIDI commands from outside. That way we could have all the benefits of standalone and host mode at the same time...

It would not affect your Editor which most likely still needs some fancy sysex mangling, but would make life a lot easier for those who want their own fanciness in whatever MIDI program they use.

I know this would require a firmware update, but it should be easy to implement, as its simple and does not need any sophistication...
I want it simple...

Stefan
TJ-Shredder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby TJ-Shredder » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:09 pm

I made a little Max Standalone to switch the SoftStep into host mode. It will explain anything you need to do all from your preferred MIDI program instead of Max. I guess this is enough API for Stew as well, as you can close the program after its done its duty...

You can get it here:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/288305/St.epInit.zip

Stefan
Axel
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby Axel » Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:51 am

Thanks a lot for the app. I think I'm sticking with Standalone mode for now, but the info you provide is very helpful. However, I find the way cc 40 - 42 work, very confusing. I haven't really found a pattern here (only played with it for 10 minutes). That's a pity because it seems you can't get yellow Leds otherwise.

Also it seems like I can't switch back to Standalone, right? I would still need the official editor to go back, or, dis- and reconnect the device.

@KMM:
Is there a sysex to go back?

Cheers,
Axel

PS: I get an error complaining that some JamomaFoundation.dylib cant be found. Is this relevant?
User avatar
Macciza
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: SoftStep API

Postby Macciza » Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:49 am

Hi Axel
Yes the 3 CC method does have certain patterns of response that can be confusing . .. Certainly better to use the single CC's for Red & Green and only use yellow if needed and deal with turn off issues . .

The sysex for Standalone is out there - someone has it in one of their patches or I can just send it to you directly if you like. . . ..

Re: Jamoma Foundation lib -Where are you seeeing the error message? The only place I recall Jamoma in SS is in the 'Sensor View' program though not sure of it's use there . . .

Cheers
MM
PS The SS/SC3 Seq looks interesting. . .
KMI StringPort_1650, SoftStep_VK2 v1.2 & MIDI Expander; Mac_Moore Guitar,
Roland VG 8, 88 & 99, YamahaVL 70m; OSX 10.6.8, iMac i7 2.8G QC; MaxMSP 5.1.8, Ableton Live 8.2.2, M4L, SC3, QC, cSound, etc, etc,
Axel
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: SoftStep API

Postby Axel » Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:50 am

Macciza wrote:The sysex for Standalone is out there - someone has it in one of their patches or I can just send it to you directly if you like. . . ..

Re: Jamoma Foundation lib -Where are you seeeing the error message? The only place I recall Jamoma in SS is in the 'Sensor View' program though not sure of it's use there . . .


Please send me the sysex.

The Jamoma error is from TJ-Shredder's app, not from any of the official tools.

Return to “SoftStep Feature Wishlist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron