SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Show off your SoftStep tricks here.
mocker
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby mocker » Sun May 17, 2015 5:37 am

OK I found out how to open the patcher inside live. But I definitely need lessons if I want to achieve everything I do with BMT :)
First of all I think you have to be a well trained Max developer to understand that language. So far when I open "Led Info for the SS" it's pretty hard to understand what's going on and how, for instance, I could send info to the display based on which state the Looper is in. Only thing I recognized are the CC numbers 20 and 110 that correspond to pad and Led.
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Sun May 17, 2015 1:34 pm

Maybe I should've made the comments a bit more descriptive, but if you wanted to add MIDI messages for the display, you would add them at the bottom where the [t b i] objects, and the [pack] objects are, below the toggles. The toggles show what state the looper is in, so based on that you could send the extra messages. I'll attempt to explain a little further.

The [t b i] object is a trigger object, with arguments of bang (b), and integer (i). It executes the arguments from right to left. When it receives a integer (from our toggle) it sends out the integer it received out the right outlet (0 or 1 for on in this case), and a bang to send the MIDI message out of the pack object out it's left outlet. You would want to test for a 1 with a [sel 1] object. If it is 1 it will send a bag out the left inlet. You could send this bang to a message box containing 55 65, which would make the display show A in the first character. to send messages for all four characters, you could create a [t b b b b] and connect your [sel 0] object to that. You would then connect each of those outlets to messages containing the CC numbers and values for the characters you wish to display. Whenever that toggle is ON, that message would be sent to the display.

Max can definitely be a bit overwhelming for a first time user, so feel free to come back with any questions (and let me know if the description made any sense at all).
mocker
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby mocker » Mon May 18, 2015 12:33 am

Thanks for your help. I'm gonna try to dive in, following your explanations. I've got to get used to the objects and really understand their functions. What I could do already - as you advice in your comments - is to duplicate the whole thing and thus use one instance of the patcher for 2 different loopers. That makes sense as I found awkward to have to use 2 midi tracks for that purpose. Well, that's already something I was proud of :)

Actually, for that particular task - telling the SS leds and dispaly (I hope) to follow the Looper state - it is much more elegant and logical to use your solution. Meanwhile, unless I become a M4L specialist, I think I'll still use BMT for some stuff like turning absolute controllers to relative, some double triggers, timers etc.

Don't be surprised if I ask for more help from time to time. :)
mocker
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby mocker » Mon May 18, 2015 12:46 am

Me again already. How do I tell the green led to blink (PLAY state) ? I tried to understand where you told the orange led to blink (Overdub) but couldn't find out. Thanks.
mocker
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby mocker » Mon May 18, 2015 1:35 am

Sorry, I'm trying hard, but can't even get how to make your simple example work, sending letter A to the display !
I'm afraid you're going to have to show me with a modified version of your patcher. My goal is to send REC, OVDB and PLAY to the display, according to the Looper state. And have the green led to blink when in PLAY. Thanks !
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Mon May 18, 2015 6:32 am

TO make an LED blink, you send a value of 3, instead of 1. SO you'd simply multiply the integer output of the [t b i] by 3.
I've include an example with the display messages integrated. Hopefully things will be a bit more clear after this one :)
Attachments
LooperLED.amxd.zip
(8.63 KiB) Downloaded 64 times
mocker
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby mocker » Mon May 18, 2015 6:47 am

Hey thanks ! I'm trying this right away.
mocker
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby mocker » Mon May 18, 2015 7:40 am

Final word…

I found out what was wrong !
In the "Display Messages" patcher you used the "7" character to figure the space at the end of the 2 words REC and OVR. You need to use "32" which is a space character instead. Otherwise, for some strange reason, REC & OVR (with 7) send a green led message to pad 1 ! Go figure.

In other words, your patcher is great and I will include it to my setup. Thanks again :)
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: SS2 for Looping in Live: Toggle/LED for Rec/Overdub/Play

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Sun May 31, 2015 11:29 am

Doh! It's usually something small like that. Nice job tracking that down. I'm actually kind of glad I left a bug in there, it gave you some experience troubleshooting in Max and finding a solution!
Let me know how this works for you in your rig.

Return to “SoftStep Tips and Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron