Page 1 of 1

Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:46 pm
by marton
When adding a MIDI Expander to a 12 Step can the 12 Step then change presets based on incoming MIDI program changes? I have another foot controller doing my preset changes for synths, guitar FX and such and it would be great if the 12 Step could then jump to a different preset for the next song which has different chords programmed on each note. One song I might want E to send note ons for E - G - C - E but then the next song I want E to send note ons for E - B - E and that's cared for by having different presets programmed.

Is this already implemented and I just missed it? I'm guessing this might be the reason for the MIDI In jack on the MIDI Expander?

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:45 pm
by TheSupport@KMI
Hi Marton,

Yes, if you send program changes to the 12 Step you can change presets from external sources. The 12 Step should respond to program changes on any MIDI channel.

It should work either by sending program changes to the 12 Step through the MIDI Expander's input port, or you can send program changes over USB from a computer by outputting to 12 Step Port 1 from whatever software you're using.

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:03 am
by goatghost
The 12 Step does NOT have the functionality to respond to program change messages over MIDI (i.e. using the MIDI "In" port on the MIDI Expander).

Keith McMillen Instruments is aware of this issue and it is possible that the problem might be addressed by a firmware update in the future. But, there is no timetable or firm commitment as to when or if this may happen.

Hopefully it will happen, soon. It's a pretty major oversight, IMO. ;)

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:39 am
by adeena
Is there any possibility of KMI developing an iPad version of the editor? Knowing Apple, this may not even be possible, but I thought I'd ask.

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 2:05 pm
by emmett@KMI
It is possible but it is not currently in development. We do have an iPad editor for K-Board however so more could get made eventually.

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Thu May 14, 2015 11:37 am
by elmquist
emmett@KMI wrote:We do have an iPad editor for K-Board however so more could get made eventually.

Any idea of what technology the app was made with: native Apple API or Qt5/QML?

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:39 am
by 3dog
adeena wrote:Is there any possibility of KMI developing an iPad version of the editor? Knowing Apple, this may not even be possible, but I thought I'd ask.


If all you want to do is trigger chords you can leave the 12 Step set up for chromatic notes (or using the bottom row 1 through 7 for Roman numeral chords of a key) and set your chords up with ChordPolyPad or GuitarCapo+ onIOS. ChordPolyPad has strum (up, down, fast, slow and random) so you could set up an arpeggio but GuitarCapo has better strumming but not as robust in other areas The preset could be saved. It has midi in and out and does have a sound engine. The interface is nice. I just got my 12 Step and I am in the process of setting this up.

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:48 pm
by heartmood
Changing presets over MIDI still would be nice!

Re: Changing 12 Step presets over MIDI

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:10 am
by TheOtherSupport@KMI
heartmood wrote:Changing presets over MIDI still would be nice!

You can change presets over MIDI on the 12 Step.