Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

User avatar
Yorgos Arabatzis
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 1:04 pm

Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby Yorgos Arabatzis » Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:01 am

Is there a way i can connect QuNeo with an iPhone 5 and control let's say an app like this: http://www.algoriddim.com/djay-iphone or this: http://www.blipinteractive.co.uk/?

Thanks
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:12 pm

Yeah, but since the Camera Connection Kit does not work with iPhones or iPods (without a jailbreak) it can take a bit more setup and require other hardware.

You'll potentially need our MIDI Expander and something like IK's iRig MIDI (http://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/irigmidi/) or Line 6's MIDI Mobilizer (http://line6.com/midimobilizer/). There is also the iConnectMIDI (http://www.iconnectivity.com/iConnectMIDI) that has a USB connection (which would eliminate the need for our MIDI Expander), but we do not have one and I have not had any users report on whether or not the Quneo plays nicely with the USB connection (I only worry because we've discovered the SoftStep does not work with the Apogee Duet's USB port, despite the SoftStep being a class-compliant device).
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
Yorgos Arabatzis
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 1:04 pm

Re: Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby Yorgos Arabatzis » Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:49 am

From what i understand i need to buy Apple's Lightning to 30-pin adapter http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD823ZM/A/lightning-to-30-pin-adapter and iRig MIDI,MIDI Mobilizer or iConnectMIDI to connect to your MIDI Expander right?
Wow that's 3 devices and an expensive option!
My device is jailbroken any insights on how to go that route?

Thanks
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:20 pm

Ahhhh, well if you're jailbroken then I believe there is a Cydia package that'll let you use the Camera Connection Kit on your iPhone (I'm not familiar with what it's called — haven't tried it myself). If you install that then you'll eliminate the need for the Expander and other MIDI device — you'd only need this: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD821 ... ra-adapter
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
Yorgos Arabatzis
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 1:04 pm

Re: Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby Yorgos Arabatzis » Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:31 am

Thanks guys you rock!
I'm gonna do a bit of research then...
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:46 pm

I should also update this to say that as of iOS 7 you can use the camera connection kit with iPhones and iPods. So you can now plug your QuNeo directly in.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
User avatar
Yorgos Arabatzis
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 1:04 pm

Re: Can i connect QuNeo with iPhone 5?

Postby Yorgos Arabatzis » Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:33 pm

Time for some wicked times then with the QuNeo/iPhone combo :twisted:

Return to “QuNeo General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron