VU Meter LiveAPI

phoolish
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:24 am

VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby phoolish » Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:21 am

I noticed that the VU Meter class was disabled in the python scripts for Live. I would like to take a stab at the problem or at least figure out why. I have very little experience with the API, but I've worked with python for a few years. If someone can point me towards any resources, I'd be most appreciative.
phoolish
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:24 am

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby phoolish » Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:50 pm

Most folks are probably going the Max route for extending Quneo functionality in Ableton (I'll probably do the same down the road), but I already know python. Here are a few resources I've found.

http://julienbayle.net/ableton-live-9-m ... e-scripts/
https://github.com/gluon/AbletonLive9_R ... ster/QuNeo
http://remotescripts.blogspot.com/2010_ ... chive.html
http://julienbayle.net/AbletonLiveRemot ... Framework/
metatron
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:50 am

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby metatron » Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:44 pm

I would like to help but am not sure how. I have also noticed that in the Ableton live scripts it includes VU Meters but they don't seem to work. I know its possible because the Will Marshall APC40 template have VU Meters built into the python script. Id love to get some live VU meters running on the Quneo. Ive been able to set it up with the AudiotoCC vst but as it is only 32 bit Id love to be able to have VU meters natively in 64 bit. I don't know much code but Im willing to try and help all I can.
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:46 pm

Getting some VU meters going using a midi M4L device with some live.observers watching the volume of tracks. I did a similar patch for the launchpad awhile back. It's pretty straightforward, but if you wanted it to follow the redbox, that would take a bit of time. But the first 8 would be quick work.
metatron
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:50 am

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby metatron » Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:28 pm

TheOtherSupport wrote:Getting some VU meters going using a midi M4L device with some live.observers watching the volume of tracks. I did a similar patch for the launchpad awhile back. It's pretty straightforward, but if you wanted it to follow the redbox, that would take a bit of time. But the first 8 would be quick work.



Can you send me in a direction? Ive never really used M4L much so I can't program anything myself.

It just sucks because I know you can have VU meters in the python script. I don't understand why they didn't include that? All the videos of the Quneo show the faders acting as VU meters.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:48 pm

Whenever we're doing VU stuff here it's using the "Audio2CC" plugin from the pizmidi collection: http://www.thepiz.org/plugins/?p=pizmidi

It takes audio as input and scales the amplitude to a MIDI CC from 0-127 — which works quite nicely on QuNeo sliders and rotaries.

Here's a tutorial on how to get this up and running: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZzbrL4 ... redirect=1
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
metatron
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:50 am

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby metatron » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:04 am

TheSupport@KMI wrote:Whenever we're doing VU stuff here it's using the "Audio2CC" plugin from the pizmidi collection: http://www.thepiz.org/plugins/?p=pizmidi

It takes audio as input and scales the amplitude to a MIDI CC from 0-127 — which works quite nicely on QuNeo sliders and rotaries.

Here's a tutorial on how to get this up and running: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZzbrL4 ... redirect=1



This works really well but Im trying to find a way to do this in 64bit version of live. The only Audio2cc I can find is 32bit so its no good to me.
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:39 am

What exactly are you looking to do? Make the 4 vertical sliders into VU meters? For which tracks? Do you want it to follow the box (problematic because the box is seven wide)?
metatron
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:50 am

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby metatron » Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:11 am

It would be great to set it up to act as a VU for the first four tracks selected in the redbox.
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: VU Meter LiveAPI

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:44 am

Alright, I've never accessed the tracks contained in the redbox via the api before, but if it's in the control script I could probably get at it. I'll have a look around and see what I can come up with.

Return to “QuNeo General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron