Aftertouch via Tilt?

peterdines
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:03 am

Aftertouch via Tilt?

Postby peterdines » Fri Aug 23, 2013 7:51 pm

Is it possible to assign poly aftertouch to tilt instead of pressure? If it isn't, can it be a feature request? I like having a poly parameter on the keys but I find pressure is too easy to activate and too difficult to control without accidentally releasing a note.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Aftertouch via Tilt?

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:21 am

It's actually not possible to use the Tilt source on either Polyphonic Aftertouch or Channel Pressure at the moment. I think we decided to go with that initially because the nature of the poly aftertouch and channel pressure lends itself to the pressure motion.

It's not that it can't be done — it definitely can. We were just waiting to see if anybody actually wanted to be able to use tilt for those functions. I've logged it as a feature request.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
peterdines
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:03 am

Re: Aftertouch via Tilt?

Postby peterdines » Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:34 pm

Thanks. BTW, would it be possible to set pressure sensitivity separately from velocity sensitivity? I suspect not because they're probably using the same sensor, but I'll ask anyways!
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Aftertouch via Tilt?

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:54 am

There's not really a way to adjust the "sensitivity" of the pressure parameter (when it actually begins), but there are a couple of things that can adjust its response.

First, you can adjust the "Gain" of the pressure modline — higher will make it more sensitive, lower will make it less sensitive. Though, this can potentially limit your ability to hit the maximum value (when lowering the gain).

Second, you can always create a custom "Curve" table to make it so the pressure values don't start increasing until you reach a certain point. I've attached a screenshot of an example. In the example the first 15 values are set to 0, so what would normally be the first 15 pressure values will just output 0. It's not until you get to 16 that pressure starts increasing. It's not exactly the same thing as making pressure harder to activate though — the 0 values will still get output (though that's almost like it's not turned on).
Attachments
qunexus-customTable.png
A little sloppy, but not bad for a hand-drawn line.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
peterdines
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:03 am

Re: Aftertouch via Tilt?

Postby peterdines » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:14 pm

I've been experimenting with the curves and getting better results. What would be nice is if we could type in our own exponents to get y=x^3, or even the fourth or fifth power. Or if those were just supplied as static presets. Most of the time I don't want aftertouch unless I really mean it, you know? ;) And drawing the curves by hand is too messy...

Return to “QuNexus General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron