Question to SoftStep owners

Get help from other SoftStep users.
kasper_toeplitz
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby kasper_toeplitz » Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:55 am

hi

_main software is MaxMSP (most of the time max 4.6, sometimes max5) - running sometimes other stuff inside - Reaktor, plug-ins, CSound.....
_using Mac computers, latest being an intel macBookPro 17", sound card RME Fireface 400 (sometimes other ones)

sound related hardware :
_korg nanokontrol
_doepfer pocket dial
_custom-made (by MESI/Eowave) USB expression pedal,
_custom-made (by MESI/Eowave) USB 4 switches/4 exp pedals box,
_custom-made (by MESI/Eowave) USB pedal controller (12 switches/4 pedals) - I am somehow in the process of replacing the last one by softstep, only seems a viable possibility now, when I bypass completely the SStep software (including the "standalone" mode) and write my own software/program (in Max) using the "raw" midi output by the pedals

so far I have all the controls I am interested into (OnOff, pressure, maximum pressure, left-right, top-bottom, ON time/duration) with a better definition (I think - pressure is on a 0-508 scale) AND the use of the NAV switches

of course no alpha numeric and no LEDs

best

kasper
mgraham
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:36 pm

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby mgraham » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:04 pm

I am using SoftStep (in standalone mode now, yay!) with Brainspawn Forte on Windows.

Switch 1 is pitchbend down
Switch 2 is pitchbend up

Switch 4 is modwheel

Switch 0 is Forte Prev scene
Switch 5 is Forte Next scene

I'll probably turn the other switches into other parameters eventually.

I'd be happy to share my settings in detail if anyone thinks they might be useful.


Michael
DaveDraper
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:10 am

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby DaveDraper » Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:46 am

Hardware: electric guitar, Sony GP5 FX box, MacBook Pro with Focusrite Saffire LE interface.
Software: Mobius. Also tinkering (somewhat unsuccessfully) with Plogue Bidule/Mobius plug-in.

Dave
User avatar
Peter Laustsen
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bergen, NORWAY
Contact:

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby Peter Laustsen » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:51 pm

Hi there!


Software: Ableton Live, Guitar Rig (Native Instruments), Main Stage (Logic).

Hardware: Macbook Pro, Digidesign MBox 2, APC40 controller (Ableton), Radial ProRMP (reamp device), Akai LPK25 mini keyboard, Walter Woods bass amp, Vox AC15 guitar amp, a lot of different basses.

Forum: TalkBass.com
- Regards from
Peter Laustsen
machine_
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby machine_ » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:33 pm

im running a Mac Book Pro(early 2008) 2.66ghz 4gb ram with 7400RPM internal hard drive.

running Windows 7 64bit

other hardware:
Presonus firestudio project
Roland TD6V drumkit (midi in through presonus)
Zoom 9.2tt effect pedal( stereo input to Presonus)
home made midi devices (www.midibox.org)

Software
Ableton Live 8
random VST plugins

coming soon.. guitar with graphtech midi expander and a gr-55
User avatar
Bill H
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:24 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby Bill H » Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:52 am

MacBook 2.4 Ghz, OS 10.6.6

Korg KP3 Kaoss Pad, Alesis Micron, and Ableton Live.
Last edited by Bill H on Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pandamonium
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:19 pm

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby Pandamonium » Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:56 pm

Macbook Pro, Behringer Firweire audio interface and Mainstage.
R Brooklyn
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:10 pm

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby R Brooklyn » Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:03 pm

Macbook Pro
Apogee Duet
Kenton KillaMix
ipod touch
Acoustic Bass
Softstep


Mainstage2, GuitarRig4, Sooper Looper, iTouchMidi, midi pipe, misc other plugs
Last edited by R Brooklyn on Wed May 25, 2011 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
barbaromail
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:59 am
Location: madrid- spain, napoli- italy

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby barbaromail » Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:03 am

hi,

Hardware:
MacBookPro 2,4 OS 10.6.6 w Motu Traveler.
Software:
Ableton Live, Guitar Rig, Symbolic Sound Corporation Kyma w Capybara320.
Controllers:
KMI SoftStep w midi exp, iPad with TouchAble and TouchOSC, KaossPad2, Wiimote controllers, Novation RemoteZero, Wacom Tablet, Korg exp ped.
Instruments:
MusicMan fretted and fretless electric basses, NS electric upright bass, Ashdown amp and cab, object w contact mics.
PMC TB2a studio monitors.
softstep, midi expander, ableton live, symbolic sound corporation kyma, music man basses.
Sam_K
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:48 am

Re: Question to SoftStep owners

Postby Sam_K » Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:59 am

Hardware:
Desktop PC: Intel Core2 Quad 2.6Ghz, 4Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD, WIN7 64-Bit
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra USB Audio/MIDI Interface
Akai MPK61 Controller Keyboard
Novation Launchpad
SoftStep
Tannoy Reveal 8D monitors

Software:
Ableton Live 8 & Max 4 Live
Camel Audio's Alchemy VSTi
Synth1 VSTi
Addictive Drums VSTi
Various Sample LIbraries

Websites:
synthtopia.com
createdigitalmusic.com
kvraudio.com
gearslutz.com
hypebot.com
vespers.ca

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron