No control on LED lights

Roman Heller
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:45 am

No control on LED lights

Postby Roman Heller » Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:24 pm

I reseted a QuNeo preset to blank. With the QuNeo editor I set the long slider location to cc1. Local LED Control for it is disabled. Only the mentioned values were changed. Preset is saved and updated.

In Resolume Arena 4.1.3 the application and composition midi mappings are reseted (no cc/notes are assigned). I go to the application midi mapping and by using the midi learn function assign the crossfader to the long slider (cc1, ch1, mode: absolute). Turning of the midi mapping.

As I move the long slider on the QuNeo the Arena Crossfader moves with it, but it does not lights on on the QuNeo. Instead of it the vertical slider 1 lights on.

With a MIDI Monitor I checked the communication between Arena and QuNeo, but there is no mistake - QuNeo and Arena both operates on cc1/ch1. Also I tried to assign other sliders and didn't got the right one to light on.

Any ideas what is going wrong?
Last edited by Roman Heller on Wed Jan 02, 2013 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jscott
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby jscott » Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:18 pm

When Local LED control is disabled, lights on the sensors are controlled by fixed controller and note mappings. See the "MIDI Input" chapter on page 24 of the QuNeo_FactoryPresetGuides-printable_1.2_BETA.pdf document to see those assignments. CC1 does indeed control the leftmost vertical slider.
Roman Heller
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:45 am

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby Roman Heller » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:29 am

Thank you!

All major vj apps have oscillator controlled faders - so they are in motion - and the midi functions are pretty raw implemented (output is not assignable). This means the QuNeo is a perfect vj'ing controller with an awesome concept but in the same time 'unusable' for vj'ing ... Honestly I'm disappointed and forced to buy an other controller.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:10 pm

Yeah, the problem is that Resolume just mirrors the same CC number you have mapped as the CC it sends out to control the LEDs. The CCs and notes the QuNeo responds to are hard-mapped to specific CCs (you can change the channel, but not the actual CC number).
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
kazakore
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:49 am

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby kazakore » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:01 am

Well a basic idea for a controller map could be each CC being the same as that which turns on the LEDs, then when MIDI-Mapped from within software that only has this behaviour (which I understand isn't uncommon) you would have at least some kind of feedback. It does still rely on the software being MIDI-mappable though.

Or use Virtual MIDI Cables and a MIDI Translator. Much more work to set up though!
Jee-Bee
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby Jee-Bee » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:48 pm

so version 1.3 can have a extra midi receive tab...
vjflashpoint
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:35 am

Resolume: No control on LED lights

Postby vjflashpoint » Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:43 am

Hi guys!
i recieved the controller yesterday, and i'm willing to program it. I use Resolume for now vj sets, but i might use other software if doesn't work well. But before, i want to get more infos from midi programming and controller-software interface.
Its still a problem the led feedback answer on Resolume? Or it as been solved?
Regards
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:52 am

No, Resolume has not updated their lacking MIDI output capabiliities, and we have not added "mirroring" for LED feedback.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
Jackenite
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:21 am

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby Jackenite » Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:49 am

+1000 for 'mirroring' LED feedback.
(So the led lights are for users, not script writers.)
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: No control on LED lights

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:57 am

I would definitely like to see it get added as well.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073

Return to “QuNeo General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron