softstep & editors

Get help from other SoftStep users.
PASK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:39 am

softstep & editors

Postby PASK » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:22 am

hello everyone I'm new to the forum and I have recently discovered the pedals KMI.


I wanted to ask some questions about the SoftStep (which I have already ordered)
1) I'm viewing the site editors KMI can also use them for SoftStep version 1? - I say this because in the online discussions I often another interface editor.

2) I saw the second editor (basic & advanced) and I did not find the control tap tempo ... I will be able to assign this function to a pedal?

3) in the FAQ's Site KMI I read that the editor does not run on Windows Vista. This is true or I misunderstood?

thank you very much to all.
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: softstep & editors

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:50 am

1) The first version of the hardware CAN be used with 2.0 editors.

2) As long as the tap tempo of the DAW/software you're trying to control can be mapped to MIDI data, then, yes, you can assign a key to be tap tempo.

3) The newer editors do NOT run on Windows Vista.
PASK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:39 am

Re: softstep & editors

Postby PASK » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:11 am

thanks for your reply

2) I would like to assign the tap tempo function during live shows to drive hardware synths and samplers.
I would not use DAW.

3) This is bad news. And now? :o
PASK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:39 am

Re: softstep & editors

Postby PASK » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:34 am

Editor works with WIN XP? with which versions?
TheOtherSupport@KMI
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: softstep & editors

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:10 pm

2) If your hardware synths have a tap tempo control that can be MIDI mapped, then yes, you can control it from the Softstep.

3) We will not be supporting Windows Vista going forward (I don't even think Microsoft supports Windows Vista anymore). We do support XP, 7, and 8.
PASK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:39 am

Re: softstep & editors

Postby PASK » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:45 am

well,
I've tried to use SS & the 2 editors with XP but nothing! My notebook don't recognize SS.

Really when I've used Vista the first time the comunication between SS & editor was right...I've changed the name of preset, and botton, and I've seen the red light flashing while data trasmit and receive.

Now also Vista don't see my SS...

very strange.

someone had the same problem?
DaveDraper
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:10 am

Re: softstep & editors

Postby DaveDraper » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:05 am

Post by TheOtherSupport@KMI » Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:10 pm
..... (I don't even think Microsoft supports Windows Vista anymore).....


extended support, apparently, 'til April 11 2017. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/lifecycle

Dave
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: softstep & editors

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:45 pm

KMI has never officially supported Windows Vista on any of our products.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron