One key, Two functions

Get help from other SoftStep users.
mehrdadp
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:34 pm

One key, Two functions

Postby mehrdadp » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:30 pm

I would like to be able to press one key for stop and play. I have setup a key to stop all my loopers (three loopers in my case). I want to press the same key to playback the loopers when I press the same key next time.
So, first key press will stop the loopers and next key press on the same key will playback the loopers.
Is there anyway that the SAME key could toggle between Stop and Play every time?
What would the modline have to be like?
Press 1: stop all loopers (I already have programmed in Ableton)
Press 2: Play all loopers (How do I toggle to playback instance?)
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-06-07 at 4.28.55 PM.png
MacBook pro, OS 10.10.5, Apple Duet, Ableton Live 9, SoftStep 1 in hosted mode, Amplitube 4.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: One key, Two functions

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:56 pm

Here's a screenshot of what I would do (doesn't matter what note number you use — I just randomly chose mine). The top modline is just a normal toggle — the second and third work together to create an inverted toggle.

Map the top modline's note to the stop function and the second modline's note to the play function. This can be a little difficult in Live when you have multiple messages coming from a single key — it confuses Live's MIDI learn function. The best way would be to temporarily turn off the second modline, map to stop, turn the modline back on and turn off the first one, map to play, then turn the modline back on.

Seems to be working just fine alternating between stop and play for Live's looper.

Alternatively, since it seems you're in Hosted mode, you could use the Top and Bottom sources instead of Foot On — this will basically turn a single key into two separate keys, the top half and bottom half.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-06-07 at 4.42.41 PM.png
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073
mehrdadp
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:34 pm

Re: One key, Two functions

Postby mehrdadp » Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:47 pm

Thank you KMI Support for the fast and accurate response. It works now.

I am hoping all this midi mapping in Ableton will still be functional and be there when I upgrade to the new Ableton 9 and/or updating to your newly coming SS Editor firmware/software update. Would it?
MacBook pro, OS 10.10.5, Apple Duet, Ableton Live 9, SoftStep 1 in hosted mode, Amplitube 4.
TheSupport@KMI
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: One key, Two functions

Postby TheSupport@KMI » Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:13 pm

Should definitely be fine in Live 9, that's what I was testing with. I'm not entirely sure what the editor update will be like at the moment, but I imagine it will work very similarly, if not the same.
2, 3, 5, 13, 89, 233, 1597, 28657, 514229, 433494437, 2971215073

Return to “SoftStep Users' Help Exchange”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron