Due to inactivity, the KMI Forums are now READ ONLY.
Here are some helpful links you can visit to get more up to date information about your KMI products:

KMI Downloads
KMI Support
KMI Facebook User Group

Sending sysex via QuNeo controls

BlindFish

Sending sysex via QuNeo controls

Postby BlindFish » Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:17 am

Hello everyone,

as a visually impaired musician i was looking for a solution to make my newly acquaired music workstation a bit more accessible to me and found the look and feel of a midi controller to be a good approach.

As the QuNeo offers a huge variety of UI elements it surely would do a good job for my purposes but what I couldn't find out is if it is possible to have a UI element such as a pad send out sysex data to a connected device.

can anyone help me with some more information about that?

Regards,
BlindFish
TheOtherSupport@KMI

Re: Sending sysex via QuNeo controls

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:05 am

You can't send sysex from the QuNeo natively.
The only option is to set up something in either Max,Pure Data, or Bome's MIDI translator, that takes MIDI messages and translates them to Sysex.
BlindFish

Postby BlindFish » Wed Feb 17, 2016 10:57 am

Thanks for your comment.

Although I don't know any of the applications mentioned i assume that all of these involve either a Mac or a PC?

to be honest, i cannot understand why processing sysex was not implemented so far. but maybe it's due to limitations of the internal memory of the QuNeo.
TheOtherSupport@KMI

Postby TheOtherSupport@KMI » Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:11 pm

What sysex commands are you trying to issue?
What type of sysex processing are you looking for specifically?
Sysex 'processing' (other than MMC) aren't really that common of a task for most MIDI controllers.
BlindFish

Postby BlindFish » Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:10 pm